Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Falling after knee replacement  (Read 1518 times)

Offline crftyldy

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Falling after knee replacement
« on: August 24, 2009, 07:28:39 PM »
I am very new to this type of posting, but, I am very curious to know if there is anyone else who has ever had a bad fall immediately (36 hours) after knee surgery.  I had my left knee replaced and had a continual femoral block done.  The block was very successful, as a matter of fact, they told me I was very rare as it was a 100% block.  No pain!!!  That sounds great, except, I couldn't feel my foot or leg in order to walk.  I wore a total immobilizer to stabilize the leg, but, couldn't make my leg move because I couldn't feel it.  Finally, I demanded that they take out the continual feed to my femor artery.  The doctor wouldn't remove it, but, did allow it turned off.  I finally got some sensation and was able to walk if I could see my foot.  I was so afraid that my rehabilitation was going to be postponed because I was not able to walk.  To make a long story a little shorter.  Approximately 36 hours after surgery, at 1:00 in the morning, I rang for the nurse to go to restroom.  We discussed putting on the immobilizer.  I only wore it when moving.  She said that they would take it off that day as I was scheduled to go home and immobilizers were taken off before going home.  I got up with my walker and felt my knee give a little a couple times.  We continued to restroom.  When I started to sit down on the commode, I completely lost my balance and fell to my right onto the bathroom floor.  It felt as though something gave, but, I had no pain.  My knee was bent behind me somewhat and I straightened my leg.  Actually hip walked over to the handicap bar so I could try to assist the two nurses that lifted me off of the floor with the gait belt.  Once in a standing position, I tried to put weight on my leg, but, it wouldn't hold me.  Wheeled me back to bed, pu