Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Microfracture on 37 year old male soccer player  (Read 80233 times)

Offline Scooter72

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 1
Microfracture on 37 year old male soccer player
« on: July 26, 2009, 04:45:12 PM »
Hello to everyone in this forum!
My name is Scott, and I am a microfracture newbie.  I had my surgery done June 25th, on a non-weight bearing portion of the trochlear groove.  I would like to give some background, before I go into the experiences of my surgery and recovery (thus far).

-I am 37 years old

-Before my knee started giving me serious trouble, I played soccer or did resistance training five days out of the week.   I worked out my legs hard.. perhaps too hard, along with playing most of my soccer indoors.. on turf.  (Not good for the knees, I think, especially during collisions)

-I imagine, that like most people with cartilage damage, I have no idea what caused my injury.  I can tell you that I started feeling a bit of pain in my knee around September/October of 2008, and kept playing through the pain all the way through about March of ’09.  How stupid of me!  (I am stubborn when it comes to pain and injury)  I thought that the pain would go away by taking it easy.. maybe cutting back on leg exercises and how many games I played per week.  I started taking anti-inflammatory meds before and after each game.  Truth be told, the pain actually did vacillate in intensity, over  time.  There would be days where it wasn’t bad, or even non-existent.
But, eventually it got to the point where I started limping during games. I remember my last game, during which my teammates told me to quit for a while. (And they told me in not so kind a fashion.. which I deserved for selfishly inserting myself as a liability on the pitch)  They were right, and I didn’t argue, considering the pain I was experiencing.