Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Hi all considering soccer retirement at 29 (knee pain)  (Read 1300 times)

Offline theyid

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hi all considering soccer retirement at 29 (knee pain)
« on: June 12, 2009, 01:04:18 AM »
Hi all,

Looking for some advice about my persistent knee pain. I'm now 29 and had it for most of my adult life. I have good days with virtually no pain but more bad when it hurts even to walk up the stairs. It's tolerable and I even play football once or twice a week. Thing is the bad days are getting coming more and more and I find I have difficulty running round. I've been blaming my fitness but am very fit so I've accepted it's the knee. I had a knee athroscopy last year after ligament damage and was told to attempt physio before having a full op as I might get away with strengthening the muscles. This seemed to have worked for a time after physio I played again. I go to the gym and work on my legs (I'm a personal trainer) and do free weights at home.

I'm not sure whether to call it a day or give it another go, I'm worried I've had osteoarthritis set. I have pain in my ankle and wrists from previous ligament injuries so I may just be vulnerable to injury. Problem is I love football (soccer) and am not one of these people who can take it easy. It's all or nothing for me. I'm going to vist the Doc tomorrow for further advice.

Sorry this is so long any comments/advice would be appreciated and thanks for taking the time to read.  :)

Offline embillma

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Re: Hi all considering soccer retirement at 29 (knee pain)
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2009, 05:25:26 AM »