Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: brace issues  (Read 1588 times)

Offline dm

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 19
  • I hate my knee!! :(
brace issues
« on: September 01, 2003, 06:59:12 PM »
I've been wearing an OA brace for 2 months. It's frame goes in front of the thigh, and behind the calf. It's a dual hinge design.  It's the OAdjuster from Donjoy. It does help with the pain, but I am not terribly fond of the design. The weight of the brace seems to rest on the strap at the top of the calf, behind the knee. The frame seems to do little to "suspend" the brace.  :( I have had some issues with the brace being an off the shelf brace, and have been able to get some changes to compensate for those issues. I still contend with some comfort issues with the way the brace "sits" on that  calf strap. ::) Please note that I am an extended use wearer, in that I wear the brace 12-16 hours per day.

Has anyone else had this experience with OA bracing? Has anyone else found another design that doesn't rely on soft tissue suspension methods? I've looked at the pictures of the Townsend Air design, and wonder if that might be better. That seems to have the shell wrapping around the front to "hold onto" the tibia.

I would really appreciate some feedback about the brace designs people have had success or problems with. I am considering getting a new brace when my insurance will help subsidize it, and would like to know from users what their experiences have been.

It may also be helpful to note that I am only 5'4", and am a "person of size", but not overly so.
multiple arthroscopies 2/00,3/01,6/01,1/03, 12/07,10/10. chondromalacia, severe medial joint space narrowing following 3 partial menisectomies, chronic pain problems, kneecap problems, OCD lesion, failed mfx.

Offline lam651

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
  • Someday
Re: brace issues
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2003, 07:19:53 PM »