Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Need a little advice plz.  (Read 1034 times)

Offline LAPage

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Need a little advice plz.
« on: April 13, 2009, 02:03:01 PM »
Good morning!  I am new to this board and new to knee pain.  I will try to be brief, but I need a little insight as I have to make a decision soon.
In November, I hurt my back carrying a child ( I am a preK teacher) and was having back spasms.  I was out of commission for approx. a week and started PT.  Well, I suppose I was walking weird because of back and I noticed my right toe was turning in.  So with the next step, I purposely stepped straight and POP.....OWWW searing pain in the knee.  I limped to school because I had missed so much already and iced it and took care of it for awhile.  It did improve but I was very limited (Oh yeah, before back I had lost 40 lbs and was exercising daily), could not exercise now.
I had a great deal of swelling, stiffness, slight but not severe pain, etc. Anyway, went back to OS and he did MRI.  MRI showed small tear in meniscus and medial degenrative osteoarthitis (not a dr. sorry).  He said my options were cortisone shot, arthoscopic surgery, or unicompartmental knee replacement.  I opted for shot as I cannot work on crutches.

Anyway, sorry so long, I go back next week and we have summer break in 6 weeks.  My gut tells me to go with arthoscopic surgery first (cortisone worked for approx. 3 weeks) and wait on knee replacement.  I just don't feel ready for that.  Is arthoscopic surgery really bad?  Is recovery pretty quick?  Thanks for any input.  By the way, I am 45 yrs old, fairly active (was more before this), somewhat overweight but not bad, and female.    Laura   P.S. Thanks again. 

Offline eaglemom

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 1
Re: Need a little advice plz.
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 11:15:35 PM »