Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Newbie - 3rd knee op-can't straighten leg,  (Read 1276 times)

Offline rowenawil

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Newbie - 3rd knee op-can't straighten leg,
« on: March 07, 2009, 05:05:08 PM »
I am new to this and am doing this am at the end of my teher with my knee. First injured it nearly 4 years ago and have had my 3rd surgery in jan 09. This surgery was for removal bone spur, patela shaving and removal plica. 8 weeks on i am able to straighten my leg when laying dowm but when i weight-bear on it , it is bent.
Saw my otho consultant again,he says have lost 15 degrees.Thinks nothing wrong inside knee now.When he tried to force it straight i felt resistance at a point on the medial side of my knee. He has told me to try to strengthen my leg  as i have alot of quad atrophy in it and if can't get in straight at the next dr visiit in 3 weeks time then he wants to do mua and splint it.Isn't this a really bad idea and will it resolve anything.
The physio that i have been seeing want it injected with steroids but not sure this is the answer either.

any thoughts would be appreciated as not able to return to work until leg is in better shape and am feeling lost and really fed u right now.

Offline rkneepain

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
  • I pray My cat doesn't trip me on my crutches!
Re: Newbie - 3rd knee op-can't straighten leg,
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 12:40:29 AM »
Hey there,