Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Synovectomy VS. TKR  (Read 1089 times)

Offline Lvc595

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Synovectomy VS. TKR
« on: March 06, 2009, 11:57:22 PM »
I have had one Dr. tell me I need TKR( both knees)  and another that said that he can do a synovectomy surgery.
From what I am reading about synovectomy it might be a difficult surgery not like haveing a meniscus tear. I am so confused I have no idea what to do. Will I have as much trama to the knee? I like the idea of saving my knee but I do have bone on bone so I don't really understand how that will help.

Can someone help?

I'm new to the this board and thankful there might be someone help shed some light.

Lori
Lori

Offline MoLu

• Regular Poster
Re: Synovectomy VS. TKR
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 05:04:01 AM »
Hi Lori-
I'm not sure what your dr is getting at to suggest a synovectomy if you have bone on bone pain.  How old are you?  A synovectomy will remove a damaged or inflamed synovium so is this what is bothering you?  I suggest you might like a second opinion.  It most certainly couldn't hurt to have a clearer picture of what you really need done.  I've had several synovectomies but never a meniscus tear so I can't compare the surgeries for you.  They have been hard surgeries but again that's all I've had so hard to compare to other repairs.  Did end up having a TKR last Oct and it seems to have helped.  Hope you get some answers.  Good luck.
Martha
Synovial Chondromatosis
9/16/05 Frontal synovectomy and tumor removal
10/26/05 Posterior open knee surgery and synovectomy with tumor removal
3/8/06 Disease is back
4/26/06 Frontal arthoscopic synovectomy and posterior open knee synovectomy
6/23/06 Disease is back
7/24/07 Synvisc
10/23/08 TKR

Offline Lvc595

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2009, 05:15:03 PM »
I'm 54 and have had two surgeries in that knee, one lateral release in 1998 and a meniscus tear and clean up in 2002.