Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Words of Wisdom?  (Read 966 times)

Offline Bionic Knees

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Words of Wisdom?
« on: March 03, 2009, 09:11:04 PM »
Hi all!

So Im new to this sight and you help would be much appreciated!

I am a 22 year old female and have a history filled with knee problems, surgerys, and physical therapy. I am about to schedule my 6th surgery and would like to get some feed back from anyone who knows about it or has had to done. The procedure is called the Fulkerson Porcedure with an Anteromedial (Distal) Tibial Tubricle Transfer....sounds intense. I have a history of frequent sublexations and dislocations and have had lateral releases in both as well as Trillat (??) procedures to correct the Q angles...they have helped but not enough. The next step is the surgery I listed above.

Feed back? Suggestions?

Thanks!

Bionic Knees

Offline strosa8

• Regular Poster
  • Try not. Do or do not, there is no try. -- Yoda
Re: Words of Wisdom?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2009, 04:42:32 PM »
Bionic knees,

you actually just posted on my wall!  I am having the TTT done in a  couple months.  I wanted to ask you, how are your trochlear grooves?  Mine are not the normal "V" shape, they are actually a bit flattened, so that makes my kneecaps want to slide out a lot more.   So if yours are flattened, you will at LEAST need the TTT in force the kneecap in the center.

I don't remember if you said this, but do your kneecaps sit to the outside of the trochlear groove normally?

When is your surgery scheduled for?

Hope to hear from you!
Shannon
08/2001- Rt. knee subluxation. X-rays show patellar maltracking and malalignment in both knees.
02/2004- Rt. knee dislocation, complete muscle atropy and PT.
05/20/2009- Pre-op appointment.
05/21/2009- Right TTO, MPFL reconstruction, scope
Summer 2010- left knee TTO and MPFL

Offline Bionic Knees

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2009, 09:57:59 PM »