Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: What did I do to my knee?  (Read 1158 times)

Offline b12BC

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
What did I do to my knee?
« on: February 27, 2009, 03:23:10 AM »
I'm a newbie here, so answers in English rather than knee geek tech talk would be greatly appreciated  ;D

This summer I was visiting a friend and I made the stupid decision to jump on her trampoline. I was just going up and down, no crazy stunts. I landed badly and my knee popped quite loudly and gave out. I was in immense pain, I couldn't move or talk coherently and I had to be carried into her house. After a strong dose of painkillers and a lot of ice, I was able to move off of her couch, but I couldn't move much more or very fast. I didn't have insurance at the time so I toughed it out and didn't go to the doctor. My knee swelled to the size of a grapefruit and was very painful and unstable (I was on crutches for a good ten days, then I began weaning myself off of them). I couldn't bend it more than 20* or so for about a month, and it took about three months of stretching and exercising it as often as possible before I got even close to my full range of motion. For the longest time it would bend to a certain point, then I could physically push it a little farther, but it would pop. It has been about 8 months and I have almost returned to my previous level of activity (I very active swimming, running, and riding horses) although I cannot run the distances that I did in the past, and quite often my knee will give out from under me toward the inside. I finally have insurance now so I can see a doctor, but I'm wondering if any of you could give me an idea of what I might have done to myself and what I might expect from my doctor.

Thank you!

Offline b12BC

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: What did I do to my knee?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 03:25:30 AM »