Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Recovery time for a patellofemoral replacement????  (Read 9638 times)

teachmath912

Recovery time for a patellofemoral replacement????
« on: December 14, 2008, 12:30:17 AM »
I have been told by my OS that my only option left is a PFR.  I am 35 and have had a lateral release done on both knees but have never had a "major" surgery on either knee.  I see the OS on the 23rd- which is most likely when we will discuss the surgery.
My major question is about my recovery time after the surgery.  I am a teacher and as much as I think I can wait until summer to have the surgery, I don't know if I can make it that long- plus I don't want to miss out on swimming  ;D !! (I live on a lake) also, I need to be able to somewhat get around in early August as I coach Varsity soccer and while I know I won't be out playing soccer, I would at least like to be able to walk across the field.
I know that most surgeons recommend 6 weeks post op before going back to work, but what is the earliest that I could go back?  I teach high school math and can sit a lot while working since the kids don't need me standing and I am very tall so even sitting I can reach pretty high up on the marker board or I will use my LCD projector and computer to do all the work...
For those that have had a PFR, what should I expect?  During my recovery time will I actually be laid out in bed or will I be able to be working at least 1/2 time or??
I would appreciate any help or information that anyone could give.
Thanks!!
~ Kit

Offline FootyChick

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Re: Recovery time for a patellofemoral replacement????
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2008, 03:22:42 PM »
Hi Kit:

I am 38 & I have had two PFJR's on my left knee.  I had a lateral release done at the same time as the first PFJR.