Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: newbie with hardware problems - in agony  (Read 1017 times)

Offline mairead

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
newbie with hardware problems - in agony
« on: December 13, 2008, 08:07:38 PM »
I’m a newbie here who needs some advice.  I fractured my right patella 3 and a half months ago,  did a good job of it – it was smashed into 20 plus pieces.   Was in brace for 12 weeks,  and on one crutch (cos I broke my left wrist in same accident).   Have now been told I am unlikely to get knee to bend beyond 75 to 80 per cent (my physio agrees with this as she can’t get the knee beyond 80 per cent),  and walking distances will be out of the question.  My real problem tho is the hardware, I noticed about four weeks ago that the screw was protruding, when I told my OS he said that my hardware was ‘prominent’ but that it might settle down, he also said my patella wasn’t exactly a normal shape anymore and was ‘lumpy’.   Well there has been no ‘settling down’,  pain has increased to agony level, screw is even more noticeable and I can now see where the tension wire is.    Not due to go back to OS till February, he said then he’d go thru some options with me if the hardware was causing problems. 

I’m wondering if I ought to go back now,  but would like to know from others the right sort of questions to ask my OS, and what, if any, options are available to me

thanks

Mairead

Offline fatcats6

• Forum Faithful
Re: newbie with hardware problems - in agony
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2008, 08:24:34 PM »
Hello Mairead,