Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Hi, I recently had surgery for a total rupture of patella tendon as well as..  (Read 545 times)

Offline walkaway

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
..surgery for a broken ankle on the same leg.  My surgery for the tendon was eight weeks ago and the ankle six weeks ago.  After the knee was done I wore a total immobilizer and two weeks later to an adjustable one. 

Because of the broken ankle I also had to wear a heavy boot under the brace and could not put my foot on the ground for the entire eight weeks.  Three days ago I finally got to take the boot off and the knee brace.  Since my doctor had been gradually adjusting the brace for the past six weeks I have 100% extension.

I just started PT and because of the two injuries together my leg is pretty weak and my knee tends to swell up after the limited work I do with it despite icing it.
My doctor just tells me to be careful with it but I am an animal trainer and have been out of work because of this.  How vulnerable am I?  How soon do most people go back to a physical job after this?  Any advise? 
Pulled down by a 110 lb Bouvier puppy in training 9/19/08 resulting in a fully ruptured patella tendon and a broken ankle. (he is sorry)
Surgery on 10/3 for tendon and 10/15 for ankle

Offline John42

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 208
  • Complete Ruptered Patella Tendon 9 Jan 2003
    • Chat with SylviaK4221
Hi

First and formost, go onto the following thread which is devoted to persons who have ruptured their Patella Tendon -  This is a VERY rare injury, and you should read up as much as possible.

http://www.kneeguru.co.uk/KNEEtalk/index.php?topic=8389.510

You have sustained this serious injury and will be in for a long haul to recovery.

If you let me have your e-mail address, I will let you have some useful information regarding the rehab process. 

Where do you live?   how did you do your injury?

Best wishes

JohnK/ Manchester UK
[email protected]