Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Wow, I really screwed up my knee.  (Read 1296 times)

Offline jiffer

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Wow, I really screwed up my knee.
« on: December 08, 2008, 05:26:57 AM »
Hello all,

I'm a grad student in NYC. I was at a party 2 weeks ago, got pretty tipsy, and fell down a rather narrow staircase. Apparently I smashed the concrete wall in with my knee and made a dent. Waited a day or two hoping it would go away, but had a reality check with the enormous swelling and went to the ER for xrays. They said it was a "knee sprain" and would heal itself, gave me an ace bandage and a cane. As the days passed the knee got bigger, hotter, and tighter, and the colors ranges from white (at the impact point--white/flesh-colored and numb) and around the biggest swelling area, dark purple. The color and swelling seemed to leak down into my calf and foot, and as the days passed they both became tight and discolored. My ankle started to hurt as though I had twisted it. Then it started becoming excruciatingly responsive to the slightest touch.

It's been a little over two weeks. The swelling and pain are still extreme, though discoloration has faded (except for the hot, tight, numb, shiny, pale/white impact area). I had additional xrays and an ultrasound (negative for blood clots), and the ortho offered to stick a needle in and drain the knee but said it would probably be too painful and sent me for an MRI instead, which I had today. His MRI prognosis read, "Severe ecchymosis, internal derangement of medial knee, non weight-bearing, check multiligamentous damage of knee and ankle." He prescribed vicodin (which does NOTHING to relieve pain, might as well be candy). As the days pass it gets stiffer, and it has started itching. The pain has not abated.