Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Has my microfracture failed? help!!  (Read 790 times)

Offline michelel

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
Has my microfracture failed? help!!
« on: November 16, 2008, 10:23:53 PM »
Hey yall im a 40 year old newbie to the forum.  i had microfracture surgery Aug13, 08, was NWB for 10 weeks.  My OS didnt mention the need for a CPM machine so i didnt use one.  I've been FWB for 2 weeks and every since, ive been in EXTREME PAIN YALL!!  i cant even walk right i have to walk with a severe limp.  I cant emphasize enough to yall how severe the pain is.  Has anyone had anything like this happen to them??  i did start PT just 2 wks ago, also started back to work 2 wks ago, i work third shift and i do have a lot of down time doing paper work, i'd say im up on my leg probably 4 hours out of 8.  After my surgery my OS told my husband my  knee was in terrible shape very very bad.  he said i would need a TKR within 10 years, and that i needed to loose weight.  i've been loosing weight, joined the YMCA, and have been swimming laps.  Again TERRIBLE pain, someone PLEASE help me. ??? ???
Right Knee:  1983 meniscal tear scope debridment &lateral release. 1991, 1997, 2001
2003 scope meniscal tears. 
8-08 MFX MFC lesion FAILED.
 4-09 Went in for OATS-not a canidate.
 6-09 Uni Right MFC.

Offline plantgeek58

• SuperKNEEgeek
Re: Has my microfracture failed? help!!
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2008, 05:24:34 AM »
Michele,
you may just be putting too much pressure on your weakened leg all at once. From your post, it sounds like you went straight from no weight to full weight without anything in between. Then you added PT and work on top of that. If that's actually the case, it's no wonder your knee hurts. After 10 weeks NWB, your OS should have had you work very gradually up to full weight, over a period of several weeks and only putting as much weight on the leg as you could manage without pain.