Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Frustrated with VA docs and severe knee pain.  (Read 979 times)

Offline warrenae

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Frustrated with VA docs and severe knee pain.
« on: November 13, 2008, 05:15:43 AM »
So i am new here. I am a vet with some pretty xevere knee pain at this point. Just a little backround. In 04 I was injured an active duty requiring a repair of a severe medial miniscus tear, went through 6 mths of PT then in aug of 05 the pain started again with a surgery to repair another severe medial miniscus tear. Everthing was fine until may of 07 when my entire knee started to hurt constantly. Now that I am a medically retired vet at 32 I just finely got some sort of answer but I am a little aprehensive:(. I was told that the MRI in FEB of 08 (yeah thats how long it took from the time I first went to the DOC) showed a small lateral miniscus tear. I had another MRI last week NOV 08 and they looked at it today findind a "pretty significant lateral miniscus tear:0" Also he told me that my knee cap sits 2 3/4 inches higher then normal and that it is genetically that way probally never causing any trouble until I aggrivated it when i originally injured my knee in 04. So I am going to have a special patella tracking CT scan done to determine the tracking so that they can repair both problems :( I am in pretty good shape as I was a runner all through highschool college and the military. I have been in PT for almost 4 years on and off with little to no improvement in pain. I am at the point now where I cannot make it through half a day without using a cane to walk, and playing with the kids is pretty tough. So this surgery sounds pretty intense. Anyone with a clew on what this is called, i think he said something about patella alta, what the surgery invovles and most of all what the recovery is? The doc, which is the first one to actually give me a diagnosis (I thank him) said that the results are not proven but at this