Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Knee won't straighten  (Read 2788 times)

Offline Siphon

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Knee won't straighten
« on: October 23, 2008, 09:45:24 PM »
Hi,

Noob here, looking for some advice.

Recently I've noticed my right knee doesn't always want to straighten out if I've had it bent for a few minutes. Like for example if I'm sitting indian style and I try to stand up, my right knew has a tough time straightening out. It doesn't hurt but it is very stiff. I have full range of motion any other time. I don't run but I do mountain bike. My left knee is perfectly fine.

Could this possibly be the early stages of arthritis?

Offline maryc

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 18
Re: Knee won't straighten
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2008, 10:23:06 PM »
The stiffness you describe can be a symptom of arthritis, but it can also be a symptom of other things as well (hamstring problems, menicus issues).  The only way to really know is to have it checked out if it bothers you, you develop sharp pains, or it gets progressively worse.  Wish I could be more help.
8/4/07 fell
8/5 diagnosed TPF
8/6 surgery plate and 6 screws
8/12 out of hospital NWM
8/21 staples removed
9/18 OS appt - WBAT with crutches
10/10 - WBAT with cane
10/27 - back to work w/cane
12/26 - no cane, slight limp when tired
1/25/08 - released from PT, no limp
2/3/09 - Released by OS

Offline karen smith

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2008, 05:26:55 PM »
Hi,

Sorry to hear of your problems.  I doubt arthiritis is the cause although it could cause it.  I have just had an osteotomy for other issues but the surgeon noted it did not dtraighern backwards totally.  He corrected this by surgery at the same time as the osteotomy.  He said id the osteotomy stopped my leg bending inwards I would still possibly get arthiritis as I would be walking awkwardly and unsteadily putting pressure on parts of the knee that shouldn't be getting it.