Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Persistent knee trouble  (Read 643 times)

Offline Dave80

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Persistent knee trouble
« on: October 14, 2008, 10:58:35 PM »
Please bear with me whilst I tell my story, sorry its wordy but I want to include everything in case it matters.

About 18 months ago I started playing 5 a side with work. Now this wasn't out of the blue exercise, I go to the gym regularly so I consider myself quite fit, if a bit heavy from doing a bit of weights and having a bit of baggage around the waist. I would say I'm a stocky 28 year old.

Everything was going fine and I was getting fitter and better at my game until I was stupid and fell hard on the floor indoors. I was going to take a shot with my left (weaker) foot but I got my right in the way so I moved it away but then had nothing to stand on. This resulting in me hitting my left knee hard into the floor with it bent and at about 90 degrees. I was able to carry on but I was amazed I could, my whole knee area was sortof numb and warm.

After this it would be painful to kneel and also I found that if i sat with my feet flat on the ground and knees at 90 degrees and tried to pull my feet back it would hurt quite a lot. This suggested to me that it was a posterior cruciate ligament (PCL) injury. So i rested even though my GP said I was fine and it went after about a month.

However when I started exercising again I started getting pains in both knees, worse in my right strangely. After a visit to a physio I was given exercises to correct the tracking of my kneecap which was their diagnosis. These were Illiotibial stretches, single leg dips for my vastus medialis and leg flys for my gluteus medius.