Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Intro + What have I done now?  (Read 1050 times)

Offline Whimsy

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • Orthopaedic mess!
Intro + What have I done now?
« on: August 11, 2003, 11:29:28 AM »
Hi all,
I'm new to this new board, but used to post on the old board a couple of years ago. This new board is great!  ;D

I am a veteran knee person with all the problems listed below in my profile, in addition to being flat-footed my entire life, knock-knee'd, having really flexible joints, and visually (during surgery) diagnosed chrondomalacia.  One doc told me I had "miserable malalignment syndrome."

Even though I never totally recovered from my subluxation and subsequent thermocapsular shrinkage, and still had problems with stairs (read still weak), I had to go and seriously break my opposite foot!

Even though I was non-weight-bearing for 3 months,  and placed all my weight on my bad knee after 2 foot surgeries,  somehow it survived. It took quite a beating during recovery and learning to walk again, but it hung in there, with only an occasional twinge.

Fast forward about 6 months to now, and I slipped and fell down stairs the other night.  :-[

My knee is stiff, and only slightly swollen, but really hurts when I walk. It's right at the joint and goes all the way across - sharp pain. I'm so afraid that I have ripped the thermal shrinkage and when it's not swollen any more that I'll start to sublux when I walk again. Or that I've done something else to it?

I know the thing to do would be to go to the doc, but unfortunately that's not an option right now. I just finished college and have not been hired yet, and would have to pay out of pocket.

I'm going to try and dig up my old ace bandage to wrap my knee and see if that helps, and other than icing I have no options just yet.  :-/