Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: dislocated patella concerns  (Read 1057 times)

Offline 4130

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
dislocated patella concerns
« on: June 02, 2008, 06:41:56 PM »
Hi to everyone,

Firstly this is my first time in any kind of forum, so excuse if i make any mistakes in posting this!

Hopefully someone will be able to give some advise, here's my situation:

I have just got back from seeing the consultant today and recieving the results of an MRI scan. The doctor said that i had dislocated my patella, and that this was demonstrated by two cloudy areas, one on the side of the patella, and the other on the side of the femur(?) where they had collided.

This injury happened about 6 weeks ago now. I went to A&E and was kept in hospital for a few days, but they couldn't diagnose anything as the patella must have popped back in without me even realising it had come out. I have been waiting for the MRI scan since and the results which as mentioned i recieved today. I have now been doing some research on dislocated knees and everywhere says that I should have used ice and that it should have been splinted, which it wasn't. Will this have any effect on recovery? I am now having to wait a further 2 weeks for physio (so by the time i have physio it will have been 8 weeks). Is there anything I can do in the meantime or anything i shouldn't be doing that will aid recovery? I have been given very little advise by anyone i have seen and I am concerned that i may be doing harm/or not enough in a crucial stage of recovery.

My knee was getting slowly better until last week where for no obvious reason it swelled up pretty big again and movement became very difficult. I have been back on my bike riding for the last 3-4 weeks, doing approx 12 miles for 3 - 4 days a week, is this a good or a bad thing?

Also what can i expect in terms of recovery times? as again my consultant would over me no explaination.