Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Anyone else missing martial arts?  (Read 4035 times)

Offline Thekaratekid

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
Anyone else missing martial arts?
« on: August 12, 2008, 09:41:59 PM »
Hi ya,

I am unable to train in karate at the mo due to another knee op, I am missing it terribly and was wondering if anyone else was missing martial arts training too?

I thought that starting a thread on it may be useful so we could all get together, talk about our passion and support each other if and when we can return to training.

I'll start, I've been training in karate on and off for 10 years now. I trained in wadoryu/sport karate for 5 years and reached my brown belt, then my knee got worse I had an arthoscopy and I manged to have 2 car accidents so I had to give up for a year. Because I moved house I started back with a new club who practice traditional wado ryu. Due to the time I had off and the slight difference in style I had a year as a white belt and the graded straight to purple belt. I worked really hard for a year training up to 3 times a week, and whilst I couldn't do squat thrusts I pretty much managed everything else and another year later achieved my brownbelt. I was just about to grade for my second kyu browm belt and my knee started playing up bigstyle, it was locking bent and subluxing etc, this meant that I was struggling with training and could no longer preform kicks that were straight or of speed.