Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Flabella ?  (Read 23974 times)

Offline jasel

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Flabella ?
« on: August 05, 2003, 01:40:37 AM »
I just had an x-ray of my "good" knee because of pain. It was pretty normal except it says "A flabella is incidentally noted". Any idea what that is?
I was diagnosed with osteonecrosis in my left knee and any pain  in the right knee worries me. I have a script to get an MRI in 2 weeks if it still hurts.
Jody

Offline vetmedgirl

• Regular Poster
  • Go POKES!
Re: Flabella ?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2003, 06:39:17 AM »
Hi,
I am a veterinary student and I know what flabella are in animals so I'll give you that info, I don't know if this is true for human medicine.  In quadripeds or animals that walk on all fours sesamoid bones are more numerous.  Sesamoid bones are bones that don't directly articulate with other bones, like they are embedded in a tendon or ligament, like the knee cap.  Dogs for instance however have sesamoids behind the knee as well, called gastrocnemius sesamoids or "fabella" these are embedded in the gastroc muscle tendon (calf muscle) near where it inserts on the femur.  Animals also have sesamoids behind the digits as well, like horses have proximal sesamoids at the fetlock and a distal sesamoid at the pastern.  In human anatomy however the only sesamoid bone that is usually there is the patella or knee cap.  That's all I know hope this helps, I realize you posted this a while back but if you do read this and have already found out what flabella are could you reply and tell me what they are as I'm curious.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2003, 01:58:54 AM by vetmedgirl »
Rt Knee Torn ACL, medial meniscus, MCL in -Dec 97
ACL Reconstruction, medial meniscus repair-Jan 98
Partial Lateral meniscectomy, Patellar and femoral chondroplasty in both knees - August 03

Offline ouchknee79

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • User's Text