Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Synvisc or scope? Help?  (Read 1313 times)

Offline jmacphee

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Synvisc or scope? Help?
« on: July 02, 2008, 05:50:56 PM »
I am new to this board, and would like to ask a few general questions.

I am 47, and I have had knee problems for years. About 4 years ago, I had my right knee scoped. The result was OK....not wonderful, but pretty good pain relief and fair improvement in being able to move it. It has given me 4 years of decent service :). The OS said TKR was the next step, but I am not ready for that yet.

However, my "good" knee, the left one, has gotten terrible in the last year...to the point that in the last few weeks, I have had days that I can't even walk without a walker. I am a teacher, so this is not good.

My OS (a different dr. from my original one) gave me all the options: Synvisc, scoping (to repair tears and clean up the joint), partial knee replacement, total knee replacement.  I have to say that I feel he gave me a very balanced report on the pros and cons of all treatments and didn't try to "sell" me anything. He himself is 53 and has bad knees. He said that he has had 4 years of Synvisc treatment, trying to buy time before a TKR. He admits that everyone has different results.

So here's my question: Synvisc or scoping?  I have read responses on this board, and I see results ranging from great to no improvement to terrible.  I have already had the scope thing with no huge problems. ShouId I stick to what I have experience with?  Confused.  Not ready for joint replacement yet.

Offline kathat

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 1
  • Aussie, Aussie, Aussie
Re: Synvisc or scope? Help?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 04:47:45 AM »
Hi,