Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: ACLr and RA positive....anyone have the surgery and had healing issues?  (Read 8769 times)

Offline xenabyte

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
First, hello!  I'm a newbie here.  I posted the following in the general section (and you could hear a pin drop)...not sure how I missed the entire "RA" section!  Must be the pain pills....

Here is a snip of my post.  :)

Snip start
I ruptured my ACL in my left knee on 5/31/08.  I had an MRI a week later.  Basically total rupture, full thickness tear of the ACL, lots of bone bruising, and large joint effusion with resulting Baker's Cyst from the fluid trying to drain somewhere.

I will be seeing an Orthopedic surgeon on Friday, June June 27th.  I know I have a few options:

1.  Do nothing

2.  Do exploratory arthroscopic surgery to clean up any damage and make sure the meniscus is not also damaged. And then do nothing, except rehab and work my leg muscles to maintain support for my knee. 

(BTW, right knee is also ACL deficient, tore it out about 10 years ago, and didn't do reconstruction surgery at the time, due to being a poor student with no insurance!  I also tore the meniscus in two places and they trimmed it up.  For the most part, it's been ok for the last few years, though I had intermittant pain for the first few years after the surgery.

3.  Get a allograph - if so, would need to do both knees most likely, and I'm worried about it healing correctly.

4.  Get autograph - ditto above.

Here is the kicker.  About 4 months ago, I was diagnosed 'ANA' positive (Anti nuclear antibodies) present in blood tests, indicationg some type of auto immune response going on (doctor is strongly leaning towards RA).