Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Better Unloader Brace?  (Read 1963 times)

Offline Cohiba767

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Better Unloader Brace?
« on: June 16, 2008, 09:39:56 PM »
I'm new to this and am considering an unloader brace. Is there one that seems better than another or is there one to stay away from. I'm not too worried about the cost but want to make the pain go away.

Offline plantgeek58

• SuperKNEEgeek
Re: Better Unloader Brace?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 04:44:01 AM »
Hi,
I have the Ossur Unloader One and find it very comfortable. It's a lot more lightweight and much easier to get on and off than my previous brace, which was a Generation II Unloader. Instead of 5 straps, this one just has 2 snaps. The center support bar sits a lot closer to the leg also, which makes it easier to wear under pants. The pads aren't as irritating as the ones on the old brace and they seem to hold it in place better. It has a ratchet system that makes it easy to adjust the amount of support as your needs change throughout the day. Best of all, an off-the-shelf model just came out, which is only about half the cost of the custom-fit one. The only difference is that your orthotist will have to bend the center bar out by hand when you go in to be fitted.
Terre
RK 7/04 part. m. menisc., plica resect., MF
    3/05 part. m. menisc., open OATS
    1/07 part l. menisc., MF, patellar chondroplasty
    9/08 MF
LK 11/04 & 8/06 part m. menisc.
     7/07 LR, patellar tendon debrid., part m. menisc.

Offline Cohiba767

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 04:02:37 PM »
Thanks for the info...this is exactly what I'm looking for; ease of use and wearing it under clothing. I did a google on quite a few braces... while they are all similar, there is also lots of subtle differences.

Offline Mandy

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • You miss 100% of the shots you don't take
    • Knee Photos
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 06:16:47 AM »
Hi there!