Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: microfraction  (Read 921 times)

Offline PTRAINER

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
microfraction
« on: March 09, 2008, 10:38:21 PM »
Can anyone out there help me? I had microfraction on left knee 8 weeks ago and am still NWB, and the OS says I have 6 weeks to go of NWB. This seems way to long. I am a trainer and cant afford to wait much longer, besides I am going insane, without any activity.  I have already had a shoulder replacement and this seems so much worse then that.  I would give up my handicap parking to be able to walk.  Thank for listening.  This is my first time using a chat room so I hope this works

Offline swayball

• Regular Poster
Re: microfraction
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 12:28:17 AM »
I would listen to what they say even if it's tough. They tell you that for a reason - don't want to mess up the surgery because you put weight on it.

Offline Shaggy

• Regular Poster
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2008, 01:22:14 AM »
I agree.  I had an HTO 5 weeks ago and was NWB for 4 weeks.  Now I am PWB and I still hate it but I want it to heal correctly.  Talk to the OS and find out his/her reasons for your recovery plan.

Shaggy
12/89 R knee scope for lateral release & patella shaving.
06/07 R knee scope for meniscus repair & bone spur removal.
08/07 R knee fluid removal & cortisone injection.
09-12/07 - R knee unloader brace and PT.
01/08 R knee HTO.

Offline plantgeek58

• SuperKNEEgeek
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2008, 03:18:41 AM »
Hi,
That does seem an excessively long time. I've had microfracture twice on my right knee and was only NWB for 4 weeks. I do know that Dr. Stedman, the originator of the technique, advocated a long NWB period, but my OS said in his experience, there's no difference in the success rate whether you go 4 weeks or 14. I'd go back and talk to your OS again. Maybe he has a specific reason for wanting you to wait longer. I wouldn't go against his judgment without talking to him first.
Terre