Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Confused newbie looking for answers!  (Read 2766 times)

Offline Mart

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Confused newbie looking for answers!
« on: November 22, 2007, 04:59:43 PM »
Hi,

I'm sooo glad there's a forum for this sort of thing, and checking on a few posts here, there's some really knowledgeable people too!

Back in April 2007 I was playing football when i turned on my left knee to volley the ball. As I did so there was a loud ripping noise and i felt as though my thigh had slipped off the top of my knee (one of my freinds heard the rip 20 yards away and thought it was my shorts that ripped, sadly it wasn't). The pain was tremendous and it made me physically sick which i've never done before! Anyway I finally gathered myself together  and was taken home for ICE treatment. The next day its was really swollen and painful, so i went to A&E where it was looked at, and about 1 pint of blood was drained out from inside my knee (this helped ease the pain temporarily, and i was told that my ACL was probably gone.

Over the next month it settled down and i was able to live with it, so when i had an appointment from the doctors to see someone about it at the end of June (!), I declined as I wasn't having any major problems. The only difficulty i found is when i tried to play golf, i felt my knee "slip off" on my backswing, I solved this problem by stopping playing golf!!!

Well 2 weeks ago I went to stand up from a low stool, and felt something go in my knee. Since then I have had alot of pain on the inside of my leg, feels like its on the joint (which is actually tneder to touch). My knee really hurts if i try to twist it outwards. Well starngly this pain has been coming and going. some days I can't sleep and am on crutches all day, and some days i can run upstairs like lightening (but i can still fell a little pain).