Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: ACL removed, Do i really need surgery?  (Read 1157 times)

Offline terry36887

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
ACL removed, Do i really need surgery?
« on: October 14, 2007, 12:13:00 PM »
Hello all,
Heres my little speel,

I had a trail bike prang and i felt my knee 'pop', yes my ACL snapped. Went to docs, surgeon and ended up i went in and my ACL was removed.
Now, question......
My knee hasnt buckled (yet), it feels great. I am doing some rehab, knee extensions and bicycle riding often as surgeon said to build up my quads. I am happy to build them up but question is, I am a police officer and was wondering if i build up these quads (and hams) do i really need surgery? My suregon didnt really give me an answer. Also, will losing some weight do me better? (Less weight on my knees?)
Any info, please help! :o
I really cannot afford for a knee reconstruction but if i have to stay behind a desk at work then I will get a loan and get it done.

I was told that some people get along fine without an ACL, but do them people run, jump fences and wrestle?

Any info greatly appreciated!

Terry

Offline aleli

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Re: ACL removed, Do i really need surgery?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 01:04:40 PM »
Short answer:

The famous Dr Noyes divided the population in three groups, fairly equal in size. (The ACL rule of thirds)

1st group: they absolutely need surgery because of instability issues etc

2nd group, they either have to modify their living (ie quit high impact sports) or have surgery