Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Chronic knee pain/swelling for ~12 months  (Read 1345 times)

Offline eab84

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Chronic knee pain/swelling for ~12 months
« on: October 13, 2007, 07:00:37 AM »
Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting anything.  I'm just wondering if anyone else has similar problems.  My knees have mild effusion and always feel like the knee caps shift or grate when i extend my knees.  They also pop quite frequently with flexion.  The heat and standing for extended periods make my knees swell and feel uncomfortably stiff below my knee caps.  I had my right knee scoped in May and had a partial menisectomy and thought that would cure my right knee.  Now the left has been having tenderness at the inferior/lateral area of near my patella.  Worried it might be a meniscal tear but the OS told me it's probably not a tear.  No one can seem to tell me why my knees are so sensitive to swelling in the heat and think it's probably PFS.  Really fed up as i cannot do much activity and haven't ran in nearly a year.  Just wondering if anyone has or is experiencing similar problems.  PLEASE HELP!!!

Offline april

• Regular Poster
Re: Chronic knee pain/swelling for ~12 months
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2007, 04:26:52 PM »
Hi there, I'm wondering if any of your drs have considered that it may be a fat pad irritation? It is supposed to be accompanied by "puffyness" and pain of the fat pads.(the "fleshy" portions on either side of the patellar tendon). Mine tends to get pinched more on the medial side of the knee, and it also tends to get aggravated by standing... maybe it's the lateral side for you?

Offline eab84

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2007, 11:53:28 PM »