Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Torn ACL's & MCL's in BOTH knees!  (Read 4424 times)

Offline horselover65

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Torn ACL's & MCL's in BOTH knees!
« on: September 21, 2007, 01:20:51 PM »
Hi everyone, I'm new to the Knee Guru and I'm looking for feedback on my recent injuries. 10 days ago I was kicked by a horse in the left knee. My left knee dislocated and both the ACL & MCL were torn completely. I also have a bone bruise from the dislocation. My right knee has a complete tear in the ACL and maybe  partial (the Dr's aren't sure if it's complete) tear in the MCL. I am scheduled for surgery next Thursday. My doctor has seen a lot of injuries and has done a lot of surgery but has NEVER seen these injuries in BOTH knees!! He and his partner are going to do the surgery together due to the extensive injuries and time it will take to repair. They will use allograft's since they don't want to give me any additional sites to heal from. My doctors feel fixing both knees at the same time is the way to go. I agree. I don't want to drag out recovery any longer than I have to and rather not go under general anesthesia 2X. While I wait for surgery it is a horrible feeling to have such instability in both knees!! I am doing some pre surgery PT to get my knees in the best shape I can prior to surgery. Has anyone ever heard of or had the same extent of injuries? I haven't searched the entire site to find out myself yet but plan to spend some time here. I sure don't have much else to do in my condition. It's aweful :( Please advise. Thanks
September 11th, 2007 kicked in the knee by a horse
September 27th, 2007 left knee surgery: ACL, MCL, posterior lateral corner repair
October 17th, 2007 right knee surgery scheduled

Offline Nettan

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 7
  • Stronger then yesterday...thanks Sis...
Re: Torn ACL's & MCL's in BOTH knees!
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2007, 01:46:03 PM »