Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: A.C.I For Gibbon :)  (Read 23736 times)

Offline Gibbon35

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
A.C.I For Gibbon :)
« on: September 03, 2007, 12:00:39 PM »
Well hi boys and gals......im a newbie to this site but unfortunatly not to knee problems....just to give you abit of a background on why i am here and what is going on. 4 years ago i was playing the manly rough and tumble game of American Football and unfortunatly upon a rather nice hit by 2 of the opposition, i tore my ACL......this however was not diagnosed by our friendly NHS AnE but instead was told all was fine and rest up for 4 weeks. So after 6 weeks back to football i went and well....as we all know...no ACL = knee giving way. Which it did......and sitting down one day at home....it popped out tearing the lateral meniscus. Ok so after having 70% of the laterial meniscus removed....and the ACL repaired using the hamstring as the donar...back to football i went.....for a year. The ACL graft was a success, with PT taking just over 9 months.....but after the year of football,  swellling and pain caused me to visit my doc again.

Here i was told that i had a grade 4 lesion on the lateral fem condile as well as a grade 3 lesion on the medial fem condile.....so here i am....no sports to preserve my knee and about to go for stage 1 of the ACI process on the 28th of sept with Mr Briggs at Bushey Watford Hospital.....the plan is to fix the medial side this time and wait for either a meniscus donor or technology to progress far enough to put lab grown meniscus into the lateral side and do ACI at the same time.

Using this thread i plan to keep people (old and new to this site) an up to date account on what is goign on.....probably to keep me sane more than anything else  ;D   If you have any questions.....tips on how to get through this.....or are in the same boat or have been there yourself....say hi...and lets get through this together :D 

Gibs out

Offline Gibbon35