Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Chondromalacia and patella tracking disorder - have one without the other?  (Read 677 times)

Offline tjd28

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Do these two knee problems go hand in hand? I don't know what my real knee problem is. I have a swollen knee, popping when I squat down, it catches and it hurts until I pop it to release it, it hurts to drive, sit for a long time, stand for more than 15 minutes (it swells), I am losing sleep because of the pain, my lower leg and foot get tingly sometimes.

Anyone else have these things going on with their knee(s)???  FRUSTRATING!!

Offline somuchpain1979

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Yup, I have the same exact symptoms as you and same exact diagnosis, but they also think I have impingement. They did no MRIs but did a physical examination and xrays to determine this. I have been fighting these problems for 6 months now. I am starting to feel a teeny tiny bit better with the phsyical therapy they have me doing. Do they have you doing any exercises yet? I have to do the stationary bike 2 times a day, 10 minutes in the morning, 20-30 minutes in the evening. Then after the evening exercises I do (with ankle weights on) straight leg lifts, 20 degree leg curls, hamstring curls, calf and inner and outer thigh exercises. Also, taking anti inflammatories tends to help get the initial pain and swelling down. Get advil over the counter and take 3 pills  3 times a day for 10 days and see if that helps. Trust me its very frustrating for me too and I can't take it anymore. My problems started after I worked out for 5 weeks and did too many squats/lunges/ and cardio on the stair stepper. It was from over-use basically. How did your problems start?

Offline somuchpain1979

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)