Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: minor hyperextension of knee?  (Read 7517 times)

Offline onslaught61

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
minor hyperextension of knee?
« on: August 21, 2007, 01:21:05 AM »
I couldn't find any reliable info regarding what seems to be an injury caused by hyperextending my right knee, so I wonder if anyone here recognizes this problem based on what happened. I am planning on seeing a doctor later in the year as I am an abroad student right now and since the 'problem' really doesn't cause any problems for every day life, I thought I could put it off.

Anyway, about a year ago I was at the gym doing squats with some decently light weight and as I stood up quickly from the last repetition I accidentally straightened my legs too much and as the weight came back down to put pressure on them a small crack was heard and so I have been resting ever since. I don't feel any pain on a normal day  while I'm walking, sitting, air squatting, but I notice if I purposely straighten my right leg it feels like it will hyper extend a lot easier than my left knee, kinda like the 'giving way' feeling I hear about, I think..what puzzles me most is that there isn't pain in my knee, yet all the injuries i hear about include symptoms such as swelling and pain that prevents normal walking and such. Any thoughts? Thanks.

Offline Nettan

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 7
  • Stronger then yesterday...thanks Sis...
Re: minor hyperextension of knee?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2007, 07:04:39 AM »
A injury doesn't always have to involve swelling or pain.
Could be that you sprained some ligament in there. Good though that you take this seriously and avoid doing things.
When you are able go check your knee.
Meanwhile you could keep up some exercises to strenghten the muscles around the knee.
Surgery 6 times left knee torn meniscus, RSDS,chondromalacia, nervdamage cause constant nervpain,chronic inflamm.
Spinaldamage wheeler 100%.