Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: My Left Knee  (Read 3908 times)

seilogramp

My Left Knee
« on: July 28, 2007, 11:24:07 PM »
I'm a runner, or at least I'd like to be one again. I've been running for that past 10 years. I've had my share of running injuries, but this is my first knee injury. About a month ago I started noticing some tightness in my left knee. No pain, just a little tight while running. I'd ice afterwards and take some ibuprofen. That seemed to get me ready for the next run. 2 weeks ago I felt a sudden and sharp pain on the inside of my left knee. Right around where the medial meniscus is, where the femur and tibia meet. I was forced to stop and hobble back to my car. I stopped running for 2 weeks. At work I was walking with a noticeable limp. In the morning it wasn't so bad, but as the day wore on and I was forced to walk, the pain would come back. Today I went to the doctor, she took an x-ray but couldn't detect any problem. She said she'd have the radiologist take a look at it and would get back with me in a week. At that time they might refer me to an orthopedic doctor for a possible mri. She prescribed naproxen for the pain and inflamation. My main concern is that my running days may be over. I've read where some runners have come back from such injuries. Not sure if this is normal or not, but I'd like to get some feedback.

The attached image shows my mouse pointing to the exact area of discomfort. It was taken from this image of a right knee.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2007, 11:51:12 PM by seilogramp »

Offline Nettan

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 7
  • Stronger then yesterday...thanks Sis...
Re: My Left Knee
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2007, 11:30:07 PM »
If you have a meniscus injury you can get back running..look at all soccer players and with their injuries and how many that comes back.
Surgery 6 times left knee torn meniscus, RSDS,chondromalacia, nervdamage cause constant nervpain,chronic inflamm.
Spinaldamage wheeler 100%.