Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: wear and tear!!  (Read 854 times)

Offline sloth

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
wear and tear!!
« on: July 23, 2007, 02:06:21 PM »
 hi guys i am new to this so please bear with me,

i am 30 years old and have always been active, i have played footbal andl rugby and for the last 20 years and have taken up running. i ran the london mararthon 2006.
about 5 years ago i dislocated my right knee playing football and was in plaster from hip to foot for about 5 weeks, after that i had physio and my knee was never "right". i went and had my knee looked at at the hospital about 8mths ago and they did the key hole surgery thing for a look. they told me i had torn my menicus and they sorted that for me, however they said there was wear and tear in the knee which could be why it was swelling after exercise and i sometime suffered pain.
there advice was to pack in the running and sport.
this left me feeling really really low as sport is a BIG part of my life, i have stopped playing contact sport and only do a little running which seems to be ok. however i seem to have a permanent swelling on the outside of my right knee, its not really sore but is allways there.
can anyone shed anylight on this or have any advice re running or if i should pack up all together. is it possible to still run distance with a bad knee or am i asking for trouble.....Thank you!!!!!!!

Offline jathib

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • ACL recon, lateral menisectomy, lateral PKR
Re: wear and tear!!
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2007, 04:02:58 PM »
You're asking for trouble. Wear and tear = degeneration = arthritis. The more you  beat on your poor knee the faster it will degenerate. On the upside, biking and swimming is great for knees.

Offline knee-will-be-great

• Forum Faithful
  • Open-wedge HTO & ACL allograft done (YES!)
    • ACL Allograft #3 Post-Surgery Rehab/Wellness Diary
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2007, 06:10:40 PM »
Hi,