Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: My third reconstruction...  (Read 2304 times)

Offline Cubie

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
My third reconstruction...
« on: August 15, 2009, 09:52:09 AM »
Hi all and in particular Sue and Deepak

I feel like documenting my progress from this surgery, it's my 3rd recon after a successful patellar tendon job in 2001 (R) and a failed hamstring job in 2007 (L). This time the surgeon here in Switzerland used the patellar tendon to reconstruct my left knee on 10th August.

So, 5 days post surgery. Still on crutches (one around the house- sorry Sue!). Started PT- flexion, extension exercises. Hanging leg extension, knee lifts and heel kicks, squats with 75% on good leg.

I have the all clear to go back to work on Monday 17th- I'm a middle school English teacher.

Once again as per my earlier post it would be nice to hear in particular from people who have had muliple recons.

Cheers
Andrew
2001: R ACL recon (NZ- patellar)
2007: L ACL recon (UK- hamstring)
2009: L arthroscopy and meniscus tidy up (Switzerland)
2009: L revision ACL recon (Switz- patellar)
2010: L arthroscopy and meniscus tidy up (Switz)
2011: L microfracture and meniscus repair (Switz)

Offline Kaputt_Knee

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 75
  • [Ed: Sue sadly passed away in 2016]
Re: My third reconstruction...
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2009, 01:48:09 PM »
Hi Andrew

back to school on Monday! WOW I'm well impressed   :o ;D ;D

Make sure your students come to you and that you have a stool or something to rest your leg on. I presume you are only half days in the classroom as we are in Germany or are you in a British/American/International school?

You know for yourself whether is is OK or not and also how to ensure that you keep going with the rehab exercises.

Are you getting any Lymph Drainage massage in Switzerland? It is magic for getting rid of the swelling - perfect for you after a day in school  :D