Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: ACL knee brace advice  (Read 2771 times)

Offline Hill Girl

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 7
ACL knee brace advice
« on: February 17, 2007, 10:35:16 PM »
Hi folks

A friend has passed on via a circuitous route what I think is a Donjoy 4Titude/Armor or Legend knee brace for me (NHS having refused to supply a decent brace suitable for skiing etc - have not had ACL reconstruction).  Never one to look a gift horse in the mouth I am now trying to work out if this is any good to me.  There are instructions with the brace but it's all a bit hard to work out.  I think it is what they call the "CI" version, ie for combined instabilities.  It seems to have the standard 10 degree extension stops installed.  It is the right size and for the right (ie left!) leg so that's a good start.

What I need to know now is whether a CI version is okay to use for an ACL deficient knee?  I know this might be a stupid question but I have no experience of knee braces at all.  Also, would the standard 10 degree extension stops be adequate - it doesn't really feel to me as if it would stop the very small amount of hyperextension I need to make my knee really hurt!

I don't want to go out and buy a brand new brace when there is a chance this one will do as at this stage.  I just want something that will allow me to have a go at skiing again and see how it feels.  I don't need a brace for any other situations.

If anyone can help with this please let me know!

Many thanks
Mar 2006 ACL rupture skiing.  Bone bruise.  No ACLR - lots of rehab got me back to the hills.

Feb 2016 Medial meniscus bucket handle tear left knee, c75% removed.

ACLR (hamstring autograph) 03/17

Patellofemoral/trochlear wear in the other knee

fawn2388

Re: ACL knee brace advice
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2007, 05:23:04 AM »