Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Help Appt tomorrow for fluid removal and cortisone......  (Read 1835 times)

Offline JRock

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Help Appt tomorrow for fluid removal and cortisone......
« on: February 07, 2007, 06:00:19 AM »
Glad to have found this site!  I have some questions I hope you are able to answer for me.  I have another appt with ortho doc tomorrow for drainage of my knee and possible cortisone shot.  I have been having stabbing pain in my R kneecap for about 2 months, the pain got so bad, and the swelling was severe!  I would be able to push fluid around my knee and feel it move.  Had X-ray and was told bone spur under knee cap, then pain continued after given exercises to do to strengthen muscles, and NSAIDS.  They ordered MRI which showed JOINT EFFUSION and HIGH GRADE PATELLARCHONDROMALACIA IN THE LATERAL FACET PRIMARILY WITH LATERAL SUBLUXATION

OK I am an EMT so I understand some of this but it would be nice to hear in plain english as the doctor did not do a good job explaining other than frayed cartiladge under kneecap.

My knee is buckling and I am heading back tomorrow for the injections and fluid removal and I am scared, I have been told it was awful, then I have beeen told it was not that bad, so please share with me your experience and advise.....I want to hear the good bad and ugly, my appt is tomorrow, so any response would be appreciated so much, I just want to know what to expect.

Thanks
Jenn

Offline Nettan

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 7
  • Stronger then yesterday...thanks Sis...
Re: Help Appt tomorrow for fluid removal and cortisone......
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2007, 06:11:26 AM »
Hey there !!

I have done that a lot of times. It's not as bad as you think and this will give you painrelief.
Your OS will first numb the skin. After that he will inject the needle from the lateral site near patella and first drain the knee and in same needle inject the cortizone.