Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Recently torn ACL & meniscus  (Read 984 times)

Offline ebdancy

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Recently torn ACL & meniscus
« on: February 05, 2007, 09:28:57 PM »
I am new to this site.† I fell from a ladder 3 weeks ago.† I went to the ER and was x-rayed and given a brace - my knee would not support any weight.† I was referred to an OS who ordered an MRI.† He sent me from his office saying he was sure I had torn my ACL and to not use the brace or crutches at all.† He wanted me to walk like normal.† He said I could return to work any time.† (I am a pharmacist and am on my feet 8 hours at a time with lots of racing about the pharmacy.)† He did not tell me to restrict any activities.† Twice in the next few days, my knee buckled and I fell (I did not return to work).† The 3rd time it happened, I fell on the knee doing more damage.† For the first time I now had pain.† Lots of pain with any movement at all.† I went back to the crutches and saw the physician's assistant the next day.† He was completely unconcerned and was sure all I needed was rehab.† He had the results of the MRI - torn ACL, torn meniscus, bruised tibia and cartiledge damage.† I got auth to go to PT a week later.† The PT was curious why they sent me since I still could not weight bear at all.† I returned to the OS last thurs who was generally a jerk.†

I am 52 years old and very active.† I don't do any specific sports on a regular basis, but I am not a couch potato either.† The OS kept referring to my age (52 is not old!) and said he could see no need to do surgery unless it was to remove the meniscus.† I am seeing a new OS this Wed.