Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: dislocated pattela  (Read 952 times)

Offline bigg

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
dislocated pattela
« on: January 07, 2007, 12:42:14 PM »
Hi all,
I am new to the post and would like some advice.  I am in the Army and have now dislocated my pattla 3 times once on my right and twice on my left, i am also a physical training instructor so i am doing alot of running exercising etc etc.  I also do bodybuilding, i am now so frustrated it is unreal. I can't do my job because my right knee seems to have never recoverd and i am just recovering from dislocating my left pattela for the second time. my quads were as big as i could get them because i do a lot of weights and me pattela still came out.  I am thinking of leaving the forces because of this. If i was in Iraq and this happend i could be in the poo. I am going to speak to my surgeon for a possible op because three times is enough for me, every time this happens i get majour set backs. My questiion is are the ops successful so i can at least continue my bodybuilding at a high level (lifting heavy weights). please could some one give me some light on this frustrating matter.

Gary >:(

Offline bigg

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Re: dislocated pattela
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2007, 07:26:49 PM »
Cheers dude,
I can't send a personal message because it won't let me, i will probably leave the army and i had thought about the fire service it looks like i'll not be able to do that either.

Offline fire535

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 1
  • User's Text
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2007, 07:55:25 PM »
I am still an active member of the fire service and have about 15 years on the job, but many of those years I have completed in pain.  You may respond very well to PT and Surgery.  I know of several people that have done very well after patella procedures.  Just do not put all your eggs in one basket.