Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: ACL rupture but no operation.  (Read 1625 times)

Offline rundeanrun

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
ACL rupture but no operation.
« on: December 29, 2006, 05:58:42 PM »
Hi everyone
First time on the site but have been reading it for a while as a guest.
I have a complete tear of my anterior cruciate ligament due to a accident whilst practicing Jujitsu.
The consultant ortho surgeon said they would not opperate on me because at the ripe old age of 48 I was to old and would just have to make some lifestyle changes.
I was shocked at this as I am a runner both on the fells and road and still regard myself as being competative and I work as a Paramedic which puts demands on your body. I explained all this but to no avail. You will be saying I should have got a second opinion but I decided to try the conservative route first so started a programme of rehab.
Everything seems to be going well its three months on and feeling good leg is getting strong again balance is good no pain feel like I could run again.
Everyone seems to be post op on the site is there anyone with experiance of my route.
Cheers Dean.

Offline Audice

• Global Moderator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 8
Re: ACL rupture but no operation.
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2006, 08:08:06 PM »
Hi Dean ~ I'm with you...no repairs, but I'm 68 & don't partake of any sport other than horses. I own a horse, ride & work at the farm. So I'm an active old lady. I also have 4 big dogs who vastly outweigh me but I walk them all together w/o being upended. <g>

Because of my activity level most people don't believe I'm as old as I am but at your 48, if it becomes necessary I'm sure you'd be able to find an OS who would do the reconstruction for you. There are folks on this list older than you who have undergone the operation & done well.