Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Why a follow up scope could be necessary!!!  (Read 2000 times)

Offline tenabutter

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
Why a follow up scope could be necessary!!!
« on: December 09, 2006, 08:20:29 AM »
I am new to this, have learned a lot reading the different threads.  My severe pain started 12/05, loud click in right knee and loss of movement. I went to OS and had surgery for meniscus tear 3/17/06 and cleaning up the roughage from OA. The OS had an MRI done and with the results first suggested draining and PT until he realized I couldn't straighten knee enough to lay flat for draining.  When I was awoken from surgery, I found out they did a microfracture, no advanced warnings I would be off feet for 6 to 8 weeks. Going through PT and non weightbearing for 8 weeks, I still had knee discomfort. Can now bend and straighten the leg, stiill a lot of pain and can't do stairs.  I did the 5 weeks of supartz injections with no relief.  After the injections the OS informed me that during the surgery the abraision from bone on bone is 2.5 cm and there was no cartalidge intact.  This was a condyle mircrofracture, not even the meniscus!!!  He told me after the injections it is rare that the supartz injection would help. He suggested the Cartalidge Transplant and sent me to a guy that specializes in that. I have had a contrast MRI and found out today that we are going in for a scope in a few weeks. The new OS believes there is little chance that we can do a cartalidge transplant, but our plans are to shoot to take the snippets of cartalidge to manufacture more. He said if this is possiible, the recovery time for the transplant is about 9 months. This is due to the size of the area to cover with cartalidge. Any and all advice and encouragement would be greatly appreciated!

Tena
« Last Edit: December 31, 2006, 12:53:31 AM by tenabutter »
3/17/2006 RK Microfracture
12/28/2006 RK Scope

Offline Mike780

• Regular Poster
Re: Cartilage Transplant?