Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Podiatrist ?  (Read 935 times)

Offline Boydy

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
Podiatrist ?
« on: July 28, 2006, 11:52:14 PM »
Hi all,
just a query,  has anybody had success with their knee problems by going to a podiatrist and getting inserts for their shoes.
I have been battling with 'maltracking patella' for two years now, had two surgeries and seen 5 different OS,  no success, they all say just have to build up my quads and then I will improve. Only way it feels strong is to tape above and below the kneecap, or wear a brace.
Saw a podiatrist last week and am hopeful this may do the trick.  He was saying that because of rolling inward of my gait (as he says lots of people do)  it is forceing my kneecap to maltrack and also all the work I am doing to try and strengthen my quads is not working because it is all out of wack, ( his words were a lot more professional  :P )  he can't believe not one of the OS would have recommended I get these inserts to correct my walk, as he believes this will be my answer to getting everything working properly. I am still waiting another week before they are made up, so am anxious to try them. My Daughter bought some at a chemist and swears by them, says her knee pain was gone in a week. So if anyone has any stories for me about their experince in this I would be very interested to hear them.  :D
Boydy
Arthroscope to repair meniscus tear, 10/04
Arthroscope for Lateral Release & repair another medial meniscal tear, 2/05
"Time heals all wounds"
Gosh I sure hope so !!

Offline shade

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 0
  • An obstacle is often a stepping stone.
Re: Podiatrist ?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2006, 12:10:05 AM »
Boydy,

Good to see you again. 

Many people have had very good results with orthotics.  Hope they do the trick for your situation.  It is very strange they weren't recommended before.

Good luck and let us know how you do with them.  ~Shade
July '05 (RK) - LR/debridement