Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Looking forward to ACI?!  (Read 10463 times)

Offline RichUK

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Looking forward to ACI?!
« on: June 19, 2006, 01:26:39 PM »
Hi,
I'm new to this but i've been recommended to have a look on here by my surgeon (Mr Briggs @ RNOH - anyone else had ACI with him?). I am having the first stage done on 19th July and I am in the process of letting work know about the ops and how much time they can expect me to be off wotk etc. I am a PE teacher but luckily I have already arranged with my head of dept to teach classroom lessons when i first get back to work. Mr Briggs has suggested that I wouldn't be able to go back to work at all for about 5 weeks. Anyone got any experience with getting back to a physical job and how you have got around this with your employer.

Also, since looking at this site I reckon I've read about 10 horror stories to every success so I would love to hear from people who have had good experiences with ACI and any advice you could give to me regarding the above and rehab etc.

Cheers

Rich

Offline Started1991

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Looking forward to ACI?!
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 10:12:29 AM »
Hi Rich,

First of all good luck, and second of all this forum is a little bit of a board of horror  :D

I had harvesting (1st stage) in April and 2nd stage (MACI) end of May '06 with Mr. Briggs as well. First Stage was a piece of cake as knee did not swell dramatically and I claimed stairs without problems within 2 days.

Having read most stories on this message board and speaking to one person who had the procedure done, I went into surgery with rather mixed feelings for the second stage. But be assured, for no reasons.