Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Fat Pad And/Or Scar Tissue...What kind of rehab am I looking at?  (Read 2918 times)

Offline asu21at

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Fat Pad And/Or Scar Tissue...What kind of rehab am I looking at?
« on: September 23, 2006, 06:12:24 AM »
Hey everyone i'm a 21 year old male collegiate basketball player and last winter I had a patella debridement/fenestration done on both knees(right one early november, left late december) up at SteadmanHawkins by Dr Peter Millett.  Any how I rehabbed them as hard as possible and was playing ball again by mid-late March.  Anyhow everything was great until Mid July when I started playing everyday and the anterior part of my left knee started swelling and becoming painful.  If i had to pin point it it'd be the bottom left part of my knee cap or right to the upper left of my patella tendon.  Anyways I took some time off and it got no better and really took a toll on me when I ran/jumped or did any one legged squat stuff.  Anyways, I went to see Millet the last day of August and he said my fat pad had become extremely thick and he didnt think it was anythign to worry about so he gave mea  shot of cortisone under the knee cap and told me to take 3 weeks off and take anti inflammatories and it should be completely gone.  Well I did that and my first night back i jogged and jumped around on the court before it flared up and was worse than before.  So I called up there, and they told me to get an MRI.  So I had that done today and it'll be about a week before I hear the results.  Anyways, after all the reading i've done it sounds like either scar tissue or chronic fat pad inflammation.  so my question is has anybody had a fat pad excision/removal or scar tissue removal or any kind of procedure similiar?  I know all cases vary but if so how long will I be out for before I can lift or run/jump?  Does this procedure require a straight legged brace?  Any info on these procedures would be GREATLY appr