Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Burning Pain - Left Knee  (Read 911 times)

Offline The Cat

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Burning Pain - Left Knee
« on: May 15, 2006, 10:43:07 PM »
First post folks so here goes.

I have been running for about 5 months now and have had absolutely no injuries up until now. I have been running about 5 miles a day since i got the notion but over the past few weeks i have begun to experience a weird pain afterwards and sometimes during the run.

It feels like a burning pain but comes and goes. I use a muscle rub cream and some anti inflammatory but to be honest they aren't really doing much good.

Does anyone know what these symptoms could be? I always run on concrete and use near new Adidas A3 running shoes.

Thanks, i look forward to hearing your remedies and advice.

Offline bobbiewinnard

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Burning Pain - Left Knee
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2006, 03:02:54 PM »
This depends where your pain is.  If it is muscle pain it could well be to do with the way you are running and if you continue to run with this pain you will exaggerate your bad running style to ease the pain, making the problem worse.

If it is a pain on a bone it depends which bone and what angle your leg is at and how much weight it is bearing when you get the pain.  I strongly suggest you run on grass, can you not run in the park or round a golf course?

Let us know exactly where your pain is!!!!!

Offline The Cat

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2006, 03:10:45 PM »
It doesn't feel like a muscle pain. It is on the inside of my left kneecap, it is DEFINETLY a bone pain. It is painful when i have completed running and the odd time during it. I have proper running shoes. I have been really pushing the fitness for 5 months, a rest possibly?

Any suggestions?

Offline bobbiewinnard

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2006, 03:32:58 PM »
Get some rest and go see your GP.