Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Knee Replacement  (Read 1062 times)

Offline indymaggie

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Knee Replacement
« on: July 19, 2006, 06:29:09 PM »
I wanted to know the average age for knee replacements. I am only 26. I know that most of the cartilage is already gone from looking at my xrays. I don't go back to see my doctor until August 3. I also have a genetic bone disease, Multiple Hereditary Exostoses, which makes thinks worse. I am worried about the outcome of all this. I have a very physically active job, I work in cancer research doing specimen collection and I am in school to be an RN. How would this work if I had to have a knee replacement?

Offline mineemowse

• Regular Poster
Re: Knee Replacement
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 04:13:39 PM »
Hi Maggie--

I'm afraid I'm no expert on knee replacements, but I do know that ideally an OS wants the patient to be much older than you are prior to doing that kind of surgery. I am 45 and need a new knee in less than two years. As dr. says that's just too young, am having an OATS allograft procedure in Sept. to buy some time. In your case, with your other issues, perhaps that will make a difference on the age thing - I don't know.

Good Luck to you, Maggie, in both your education and your knee!

Donna
'98 torn meniscus
'99 arthriscopy repair
'02 cartilidge replacement injections
July '06 arthriscopy cleanup
Oct. '06 Oats Allograft procedure (failed)
May '07 arthriscopy cleanup
Dec. 3 '07 - TKR

knee deep in Goo

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2006, 06:02:13 PM »