Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Patella Baja  (Read 1166 times)

Offline KatieO

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 0
Patella Baja
« on: May 01, 2006, 12:46:40 AM »
Hi,
I am completely new to message boards but here goes. I have had 3 surgeries (partial ACL tear, ACL reconstruction, lateral release) and now, 3 years since last op, the pain is worse than ever. I have been finally diagnosed with patella baja, and told that I "hyper healed" from the surgeries and that caused the patellar tendon to shrink. I have been told that there is nothing that can be done. I am 52 and healthy and can't work with the pain, hence, losing my mind. I am going to start running groups in the fall for people living with chronic pain. That is a positive thing.
Does anyone know about tibial tubercle osteomtomy? Is that what is called "a fulkerson?" Dr. Fulkerson lives not that far from me. My doctor is making contact with him. What about Dr. Minas in Boston? We are also contacting him.
If anyone has any experience, especially positive experience, I would love to hear. Sympathy is also appreciated!
KatieO.
5/98 twisting injury
10/98 ACL partial tear repair/ and RSD
10/01 ACL reconstruction w/allograft
7/03 LR
1/06 diagnosed with patella baja
7/5 open knee surgery for IPCS
Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage...Anais Nin

Offline Heather M.

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 13
    • Check out my photography!
Re: Patella Baja
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2006, 02:16:46 AM »
Katie,

Unfortunately, there are quite a few of us dealing with patella baja.  Head down to the Soft Tissue Healing Problems section of the board and check out the hundreds of posts--you'll find lots of company and lots of sympathy.