Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: cycling  (Read 4933 times)

Offline NikkiE

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
cycling
« on: March 09, 2006, 12:03:31 AM »
I also posted this in the patello femoral site but I would really like to know about cycling

After I was advised to give up running, I was told to take up cycling instead. However, I also have a problem with my kneecaps mistracking so i was wondering if it would be ok to tape them before going for a long cycle - long in this case being only an hour, I am a beginner. I am tempted to throw myself into this sport like i did with running but am worried i will mess my knees up more? I am going a bit crazy here not being able to train like I used to and I seem to be running out of sports!

How many times a week would you recommend traing?
Chondromalacia in right knee for 13 years. 

OA in medial section of right knee, almost bone on bone.

OA in medial section of left knee

Offline LatPKRGirl

• Regular Poster
Re: cycling
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2006, 02:40:54 PM »
Dear NikkiE,

While I think cycling might be an option for you, I am concerned about your tracking.  Some questions I might ask myself - when my maltracking occurs, does my pain increase for more than a moment?  Does the taping really provide the amount of support I need?  and for the length of time I will need it?  Can my skin handle repeated taping sessions?  Am I proficient enough on a bike to keep the stress on my knees to a minimum?  That is, do I shift enough to allow a constant rpm and decrease the tension on the knees?  Will I be a flat-roader or want to do something more strenuous?  Can I adjust my bike to decrease my tracking issues - maybe raise the seat a bit to  allow for less flexion, but still reach the pedals at full extension (and not "reach" which could cause hip/back issues).