Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Quad rupture rehab pain  (Read 3793 times)

Offline AeroDave

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Quad rupture rehab pain
« on: March 02, 2006, 06:58:52 PM »
Hello people

This is my first time I have ever been in any chat space let alone this one. Hope I am doing this right. Anyway, at the end of September 2005 I tripped on two steps at work and landed on the side of my left  foot. I ended up with a tib-fib spiral fracture in the ankle, but worse than that I experienced full bilateral quad ruptures. I was rushed to hospital where the next day underwent a 5.5 hour surgery where I got 9 pins and a plate in my ankle and the quads re-attached in each knee - I gather they sort of drilled three tunnels in each kneecap and fed the tendons in there and sutured them. Then I spent a month in hospital in cylinder casts and another month in a hospital bed at home.

So far everything has been going along pretty good - my physio says I am really ahead of the curve in rehab. Full ROM on the ankle, full ROM on the right knee and 90% on the left knee (my left knee lagged behind my right knee in rehab because I favoured it while my ankle recovered. Full weight bearing on both knees now too. My problem is that I have bad days and good days. Lately there seems to be mostly bad days. I experience really strange pain at the point where the quad tendons attach to the kneecap. Never before have I ever  felt this sort of pain. By the end of each day, I can barely walk up stairs. It feels as if (especially the left) my tendons are about to rip out of my kneecaps. Sometimes there is strange burning/tingling sensation that gives me the creeps - like I just ripped something.

I was fairly active prior to the fall despite my 55 years - playing a lot of ice hockey, golf, downhill skiing and cycling. Now, 5 months after the fall all I can do is spin-cycle classes.