Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: A veritable knee-injury virgin...  (Read 2450 times)

Offline 1234qwerty

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
A veritable knee-injury virgin...
« on: July 06, 2006, 09:46:50 PM »
Hi,

I've looked through many of the posts and have found them very useful.  However I would really like to get specific advice from all you knee geeks out there about my particular situation.  Please excuse any inaccuracies in terminology.

I have been training hard for a good seven months now, having proper rest and stretching before and after every training session. My left leg has always been 'tighter' than the right, and when doing the 'figure four' hamstring stretch i can't reach as far down my left leg as i can on my right. No dramas, as it never hurt pre, during or after a run (though occaissionaly it might feel a bit tight down the medial tendon/ligament which runs from the back of the inside of my left leg to my shin).

Anyway! I have started a course with TA which means i will be doing a lot of running/physical activity and last Tuesday we did a hill sprint/run session where i felt my hamstring tighten a little.  Since then i have had occaissional short dull pains up the ligament/tendon and tightness in the quad and the medial side of my left leg.  I have given it the RICE treatment, stretched LOTS and am laying off running until i go to TA on Tuesday.

So basically; what do you reckon I have? Quad tendonitis?  Damage to my Medial Collaterol?  To be honest i'm clutching at straws here.  Whatever it is, i think i've caught it pretty early as i COULD run on it with no trouble, but i want to be careful and stop the problem snowballing into a real injury.

I would go to a physio but unfortunately cash flow problems restrict me from doing so!  And i don't know whether i should be stretching more/stretching less/doing light exercise/swimming/how long should I leave it before getting back into my training seriously?